header image

Dates and Definitions for Major Eras in Texas History


The Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS) effective in fall 2011, state the following: "The student is expected to identify the major eras in Texas history, describe their defining characteristics, and explain why historians divide the past into eras, including Natural Texas and its People; Age of Contact; Spanish Colonial; Mexican National; Revolution and Republic; Early Statehood; Texas in the Civil War and Reconstruction; Cotton, Cattle and Railroads; Age of Oil; Texas in the Great Depression and World War II; Civil Rights and Conservatism; and Contemporary Texas."

To aid in this task, the Texas State Historical Association has created resource material to assist teachers and students.

Grade Level(s): 
Source / Organization: 

Add new comment